I’m someone that is very much an old soul when it comes to music, I could happily sit and listen to music from 50s, 60s, 70s etc all day long. But I’m not just about “old” music I believe that music back then even as late as the 90s/00s really made you feel something. Whether its the the bass-line and melody of a rare groove song, something that makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up and just makes you smile; or the gritty sound of a deep house song.

For example:

One of my favourite songs, can always be turned to whenever you’re feeling down, having a soul Sunday session or at a rare groove/soul night. Now I’m not gonna sit here and keep going on about soul like an old fogey but this music makes you feel something.

Another example of something more up to date is the below song from Jeff Bradshaw, Robert Glasper and Eric Roberson. Great vibe can imagine this sounding amazing live at the jazz cafe. A lot of music can’t recreate this vibe, some stuff needs some live instrumentation to provide the kinda of feel I’m talking about.

Lets take it to Hip-Hop. My musical influences were Rnb/Soul from my mum and Hip Hop/House very heavily from my dad. I grew up listening to A Tribe Called Quest, Pete Rock, Mobb Deep, Erick Sermon, Nas, Gangstarr and so on. You get the picture. All of this music makes you feel something, whether it be you want to hum the melody or nod your head to the drums. There are so many songs I could use to illustrate my point but I’m going for some real boom bap here:

Whether its the drums, the cuts or the sample that catches you this epitomises great music for me. Sure Guru isn’t the most interesting rapper to listen to but him and Preem (DJ Premier) created magic together. My point is whatever the era/style of music, good music has one inherent factor: it makes you feel.

Lastly going to house music.The above song is the last example I’ll use, this song is very close to my heart and has definitely got me through some tough times. As the title says it makes you “smile”, a lot of this soulful house has a real gospel feel to it and does evoke emotion.

Now I’m not telling you what you should or shouldn’t listen to but some of this music is what I consider “good music”
Some may find it boring, some may love it just I do.

My point throughout all of this is all “Good Music” can catch you in a certain way and make you forget about anything going on in your life or make you reminisce. At the end of the day there is nothing like real “Good Music”.

Thanks for reading…

Ramblings of a music fan

